I dropped out and joined a band instead…

“The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner”, what a great album. To many, this is considered the peak of Ben Folds Five and also marks their glorious ending. This ending allowed Ben (Folds) the freedom to begin the exploration of his own musical direction. His first solo album “Rockin’ the Suburbs”, to me, is what the next Ben Folds Five album would have sounded like anyway. (Interesting note about “Rockin’ the Suburbs”: it was released on September 11, 2001.)

“The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner” should still be considered his masterpiece. Being raised by a southern-liberal father also, (Ben is from Winston-Salem, NC) I can personally relate to some of the themes that appear in this album. Namely this song, “Army”. I too faced the idea of “being all you can be” around the age of seventeen or eighteen. I’m glad Ben and I were basically asked the same question by our awesome, southern-liberal, Democrat* fathers: “Son, are you fucking high?”

I probably was, lol.

*I actually have no idea if Ben’s father is a Liberal Democrat or not. I just “get” that from this album. Assuming is fun, you should try it.

Leave a Reply

